Tuesdays with Dorie – Irish Soda Bread

Easy peasy lemon squeezy.  And John wanted to buy a loaf at Harris Teeter…

St. Patty’s Day found me in a rush – to the parade in the morning, a soccer game, an Irish dance performance at a nursing home, and a casual dinner (cooked by moi) for friends.  Not sure why I thought it would be a laid-back Saturday!

Thank goodness I had watched the actual Julia Child video for making the bread that someone posted on the P & Q for this recipe.  I knew that if I could watch a chef do it in under three minutes, it was something I could handle.  In between a sauce and beating egg whites for chocolate souffles, I made my Irish soda bread.

While a plain loaf is more traditionally Irish, I added a cup’o raisins and a tablespoon of caraway seeds for oomph.  After I added the buttermilk, the dough still seemed flour-y.  Until of course I turned it out for a quick knead, then it became a sticky mess.  “John, get the flour!”, I screamed like a doctor in an ER asking for paddles.  A sprinkling on my hands did the trick – the dough came together and I slashed a cross in the goo.

A subtle aroma wafted through the house, perfect when you’re expecting guests.  I served the bread with some real Irish butter – a treat!  And everyone, kids alike, seemed to enjoy it.  It was the perfect opening to a menu of molasses coffee marinated pork chops, colcannon, and plenty of Guinness.

The Irish soda bread was so easy and forgiving – unlike my souffles which rose and fell before they were served!

This entry was posted in Baking.

8 comments on “Tuesdays with Dorie – Irish Soda Bread

  1. I like your comparison to an ER room fixing your dough! I need more flour!! Ha, ha 🙂

  2. cathleen says:

    What a beautiful tribute to your mom. I love the idea of compiling her recipes into a book.

  3. Piebird says:

    I bet everything was delicious. did you know that fallen chocolate soufflés can pass for warm flour-less chocolate cake? 😉

  4. Julia says:

    Your whole meal sounds lovely!

  5. Jill says:

    Yes, this was really sticky! It sounds like your whole meal was delicious.

  6. jane says:

    I like your bread story, I love what you are doing with your mother’s recipes.Bravo for you!!

  7. galettista says:

    I agree that the recipe is easy and forgiving. I love that you’re compiling your mother’s recipes.

  8. Cher says:

    Yes, something this simple made room for us to get in involved in more “complicated” endeavors 🙂

    Nice job.

Leave a Reply

